You are here > Home > Quick Navigation > Travel > Historical Cities


One of the six top cities of China, Wuhan is the capital of Hubei Province and the center of Central China in terms of industry, finance, business, science and education. It has under its jurisdiction nine districts, two suburb areas and two counties with a land area of 8,467 square kilometers and a population of 7.28 million.

Where Wuhan stands in Central China is the confluence of the Yangtze River and its biggest contributor -- the Hanjiang River. The city of Wuhan is naturally divided into three townships, namely Hanshui, Hanyang and Wuchang. With a convenient network of transportation, Wuhan is once the connecting point of nine provinces. It is also a rare city of China with an overall transportation of railway, waterway, road, air, post and telecommunication.

The history of Wuhan dates back to the Shang Dynasty (17th- 11th century BC), 3,500 years ago. Hankou was one of the Top Four Towns in history with advanced business. Wuchang is the place where the 1911 Revolution first started, which overthrew the over 2,000-year-old feudal society.

With more than a hundred lakes and numerous mountains, Wuhan has four clearly demarcated seasons. The culture here is influenced by the philosophy of Laozi and Zhuangzi with a dense flavor of Chu.

Quick Navigation

New Article